City of Adelaide Council: Achieving Gender Balance

People of Adelaide

Gender balance council

When Sandy Verschoor was sworn in as a Councillor for the City of Adelaide on 15 December 2015, she joined Councillors Anne Moran, Megan Hender, Natasha Malani, Priscilla Corbell-Moore and Susan Clearihan.

Together they formed, for the first time in history, a City of Adelaide Council Chamber comprising a balance of male and female Council members. At that same Council meeting, Councillor Hender was elected to take on the role of Deputy Lord Mayor from February 2016 until February 2017.

Local government in South Australia is continuing this leadership with a record 454 women nominating for the 2018 elections and 22 women elected as mayors across the state.

The City of Adelaide’s Lord Mayor Sandy Verschoor is very proud to be among those 22 female leaders and encourages women to be active in their communities and to have a voice. When the input, needs, wants and aspirations of all community members are heard and reflected, we create a better balanced future.

Celebrating 125 years of women's suffrage in South Australia.

Image: Adelaide Town Hall Portraits